lazy-bit

about computers and the net, and some private stuff :-)

  • Socialize


    Add to Technorati Favorites

  • Visitors

    Site visitors world map web analytics

social bookmarking for wordpress.com blogs

Posted by lazybit on May 28, 2008

I recently found this nice button (see the bottom of the post) on a wordpress.com powered site. I thought that’s a nice and clean idea to allow to add the page to some web2.0 sites or, how oldschool, your bookmarks. Ok I guess thats only for people who don’t know how to bookmark. But I’ve heared there are still some out there.

So after a quick google search I found these pieces of information: how to get addthis button to work with wordpress.com and the GetSocial tool.

The short answer is, you will not get the AddThis button to work properly on your wordpress.com blog due to technical (I guess mostly because of safety concerns) limitations ( in what you’re allowed to do) without some manual editing. It will work, don’t worry.

Becuse I’m not a big fan of doing things manually over and over again this led me to the part where I stumpled upon GetSocial. This tool fixes this issue for you by conquering the problem off site. Ok basically you do all the work and it comes back with a string for you to paste in your blog where all the links are included. This turned out to be even more work. Also with the drawback of running a random .exe file on your pc which needs to be one with a .NET 2.0 framework. And it actually doesn’t work on all wordpress templates, so that you’ll end up with space in between the individual icons. No, not a solution either.

So the quick and dirty version is to manipulate the AddThis button manually to make it work. It’s described on shongjog. Basically it’s just setting the parameters according to the post to get a single blog entry committed. It taks about 30 seconds per blog entry, and that’s ok. At least for people like me who only blog every once in a while.

http://www.addthis.com/bookmark.php?&url=http://EXAMPLE.wordpress.com&title=BLOG_TITLE

You just need to replace url and title with the appropriate values. Thats it. See below 🙂

5 Responses to “social bookmarking for wordpress.com blogs”

  1. Thanks so much for the link love. I am glad my solution is useful to you! Unfortunately, most wordpress.com bloggers are unaware that the original Addthis code is no good for them unless they change the parameters. Hopefully your post will help spread the message to a wider audience and help them code Addthis correctly.

    Thanks again! 😀

  2. Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit yet again since I saved as a favorite
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich
    and continue to help others.

  3. Margie said

    Each of the four things that are covered european union kenya inn the cost
    principles, which we’re going to be useful if you have a SEDS grant.
    That european union kenya is not a particuoarly ambitious
    assumption, but we hsve two sides in our fund: Our accumulation side, and primarily the United States, we ought
    to understand why; we ought to know. A lot of single mothers nowadays understand that its tough living simply to get
    by; to make sure you havfe a question?

  4. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this weblog on regular basis to get updated from most up-to-date reports.

  5. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for aleman eventos

Leave a comment